Obscura Gallery Logo

a white block


The contemporary artists at Obscura Gallery are each representing photography in a new and unique way – sometimes taking from or adding to many of the photographic progresses that the medium was founded upon. Unified by a theme that depicts our common humanity, their finely crafted photographic prints feature various genres including photojournalism, mixed-media, landscape, still life, and portraiture.

In addition to the represented contemporary artists, Obscura Gallery also carries an ongoing, rotating inventory of 19th and 20th Century photography. These focus on regional Southwest United States and Mexican photographers, along with mid-Century masters from around the world. The gallery also considers quality consignments – please inquire for further information.

Jennifer Schlesinger, Owner and Director of Obscura Gallery, is a Curator, Gallerist, Educator, and Artist. Jennifer Schlesinger graduated from the College of Santa Fe in 1998 with a B.A. in Photography and Journalism, with heavy emphasis on the study of the fine print in the photographic medium as well as photography’s context in the history of art. She was the Assistant Director of Santa Fe Art Institute from 2003-2005 and was the Director of VERVE Gallery of Photography in Santa Fe from 2005-2017. Schlesinger has taught photography with a focus on albumen printing and black/white fine printing at the College of Santa Fe, Santa Fe Photographic Workshops, Art Intersection, and other venues. She currently serves on the Board of Directors for AIPAD (Association of International Photography Art Dealers). Jennifer is Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) compliant through January 31, 2026.

Obscura Gallery was honored a membership to the Association of International Photography Art Dealers in December 2016.

Representing the Finest Contributions
to the History of Photography

Obscura Gallery
225 Delgado St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501

Member of the Association of International Photography Art Dealers


All photographs are ©2024 by the respective artist. All rights reserved.